The CIE Resource Collection Has a New Home

The CIE Resource Collection Has a New Home

CIE’s books were previously located in the stacks area of the library, but they were a little out of the way there. They were not in a place where faculty could easily just pause and browse and maybe find something of interest. So we moved them to a much more central,...
2015 NMC Reads Book Choice

2015 NMC Reads Book Choice

Each year the CIE Board selects a book which has connections to the classroom but that also has ties to our personal and professional lives. The book for 2015-2016 is How We Learn. In the tradition of The Power of Habit and Thinking, Fast and Slow, comes  a practical,...

CIE Wants to Hear from You

In addition to continuing to offer popular programs such as Friday Forums (the first Friday of every month from 12:00-1:30 with lunch provided!), and the 20 Minute Mentor Coffee Club (the third Friday of every month at 10 am with coffee and pastries!), we are also...
Bird by Bird

Bird by Bird

My students are starting to feel overwhelmed right now. They have math tests and English papers and lots of hours at work–two even told me today that they just picked up second jobs. It’s easy for them to give up in the face of so much to do. So it is always at...
Trying to be a Creator–Even in November

Trying to be a Creator–Even in November

For a number of years now, I have taught my ENG 107 students about the idea of personal responsibility. We use On Course, a college success book written by Skip Downing, as the primary text in that class. The whole book is based on the choice between being a Victim...