Top Navigation

Tag Archives | critical thinking

Book Cover

CIE Reading Group Book

Each year the CIE Board selects a book which has connections to the classroom, but that also has ties to our personal and professional acumen.  The book for the 2015-2016 academic year will be How We Learn. In the tradition of The Power of Habit and Thinking, Fast and Slow comes a practical, playful, and endlessly… Continue Reading CIE Reading Group Book

0

“Messy” Questions Often Elicit Critical Thinking

One strategy to elicit critical thinking is to omit important facts when presenting scenarios to students for classroom discussion.  Often instructors take considerable care in class to articulate each important fact within a particular scenario that students will need to evaluate that scenario in their group discussions. Those instructors will often also take considerable care… Continue Reading “Messy” Questions Often Elicit Critical Thinking

0
Connecting Instructors, Students, and Veterans Through Letters Home

Connecting Instructors, Students, and Veterans Through Letters Home

Written with Scott Herzberg Most of us have seen action movies where the main character leaves a loving family behind, embarking on an action filled mission to right a wrong and save the world. The movie ends dramatically with total destruction averted, the credits roll, and we return home to our normal lives without a second… Continue Reading Connecting Instructors, Students, and Veterans Through Letters Home

0